IS WHEY PROTEIN VEGAN?
When it comes to protein powder, there are many great options to choose from! There are numerous flavours as well, such as vanilla, chocolate, coffee, berry, and peanut butter! Yum!
They're great in shakes, smoothies, and other recipes. They add that extra flavour to pancakes, smoothie bowls, protein balls, and so much more!
Though, we understand that it can get a little confusing. For instance, what is the difference between whey and vegan (plant-based) protein powder?
Whey protein comes from milk. During the cheesemaking process, whey is the liquid that separates from the curds. Vegan protein powder comes from plant-based sources; for example, we add rice protein and pea protein isolate to some our vegan protein powders.
So, to answer the question is whey protein vegan, then no, it's not because the whey comes from milk.
But, luckily there are alternatives for those on plant-based diets! At Happy Way, we have five vegan protein powders available: vanilla, cacao mint hemp, choc pea, peanut butter, and Ashy Bines' tripe choc fudge.
Our vanilla protein powder, for instance, is made with pea protein isolate and rice protein. We also include coconut flour, natural vanilla bean, chia seeds, psyllium husk, maca, stevia leaf, and Himalayan rock salt. This flavour is so versatile and can be enjoyed by shaking 30 grams in a jar or shaker with 250ml of water, milk or nut milk.
It also goes great in recipes. Here's one of our favourites:
Banana Caramel Smoothie
For this delicious banana caramel smoothie, you'll need one banana,
one cup of water, one cup of ice, one pitted Medjool date, one tablespoon of almond butter, and one scoop of our yummy vegan vanilla flavoured protein powder.
To make this smoothie, add all of the ingredients into a high powdered blender and blend until smooth. And that's it! Now, all you need to do is pour it into a jar or glass and enjoy!
View the recipe here.
Recipe by @malissafedele